Eunice Player’s Theatre to celebrate 50th season with Irving Awards

The Eunice Players’ Theatre will celebrate 50 years in community theatre at their annual Irving Awards ceremony on Jan. 25. Season ticket holders are the voters for the ten prizes handed out during the ceremony and ballots have been mailed.
However, due to processing delays, the ballots have been delayed so EPT has extended the deadline to Jan. 22 for returning them. Each ballot comes with a self-addressed stamped envelope for return mail to Vige, Tujaque, and Noel, the accounting firm who tabulates the ballots. Ballots can also be dropped off at their office at 151 N. 2nd St. in Eunice.
This year’s ceremony promises to deliver a golden sparkle, complete with songs and dances from EPT’s past musicals, a retrospective of shows from the past 50 years, EPT trivia, presenters from across the spectrum of past casts and crews, and more. “We are excited to bring back the cocktail dress and we look forward to our patrons joining in for the evening,” said Jody L. Powell.
Nominees for this year’s Irving Awards are from the three plays presented this season, “Daddy’s Dyin’, Who’s Got the Will?”, directed by Jimmy Broussard, “Crimes of the Heart”, directed by Jody L. Powell, and “Noises Off”, directed by Annette Harrington and Brett Faulkner. Recognition will also be given to the cast and crew of the summer musical, “Godspell”, directed by Angie B. McBride, although that show is not on the ballot. The 2020 season shows will be announced at the Irving Awards.
The Irving Awards is the kickoff for the 51st season and season tickets will be on sale beginning that night. Following that, tickets can be purchased at Beaucoup, 114 S. 2nd St. in Eunice, or from any board member.
At its recent General Membership meeting, EPT season ticket holders voted for the board to serve for the 2020 season, with officers being elected at a following meeting. For the 51st season, the board consists of Gabe Ortego, president; Annette Harrington, vice-president, Kristi Burleigh, treasurer; Denise Fusilier, secretary; Jody L. Powell, historian, Brett Faulkner, executive board member; Angie B. McBride, Jimmy Broussard, Bonnie Pitre Kyzar, Lise Richard, Sharon Blankenship, Shawn Darbonne, Jeanne Eddins, Randy Fontenot and Becky Broussard.

Eunice Today

465 Aymond St.
Eunice, LA 70535
Phone: 337-457-3061
Fax: 337-457-3122