Article Image Alt Text

5-1A All-District team released

Catholic High of Pointe Coupee advanced to the Division IV state championship game and the Hornets captured top honors in District 5-1A.
The Hornets went 5-0 in district to slip past Opelousas Catholic and St. Edmund for the title.
No. 7 Catholic–PC opened the playoffs with a 28-7 win over No. 10 Cedar Creek before a 13-0 upset over No. 2 Opelousas Catholic.
The Hornets grabbed a 21-8 win over No. 6 Southern Lab to advance to the Division IV state title game against No. 5 Ouachita Christian in the Mercedes Benz Superdome.
District runners-up Opelousas Catholic (10-2, 5-1 opened the playoffs with a 69-0 rout over No. 15 Hamilton Christian before falling to the Hornets in the quarterfinals.
No. 11 St. Edmund (6-5, 3-2) fell 53-7 to Southern Lab in the first round.
No 12 Sacred Heart of Ville Platte (5-6, 2-3) was shut out in the first round by Ouachita Christian, 54-0.
No. 17 WCA (5-5, 1-4) did not make Div. IV playoffs, while No. 20 North Central (1-10, 0-5) fell 68-22 to No. 13 East Beauregard in the opening round of the Class 1-A playoffs.
CHPC running back Matthew Langlois was named Offensive MVP. while Hornets head coach David Simoneaux earned District Coach of the Year honors.
Joining Langlois on the offensive first team backfield were Opelousas Catholic quarterback Jesse Roy along with St. Edmund running back Peyton Marcantel and Landon Devillier from Westminster Christian Academy.
First team offensive linemen were the CHPC duo of Reed Lambert and Luke Torres along with OC’s Trey Carriere and Xavier Jackson
Evan Bergeron from Westminster was also selected to the first team offensive line.
First team wide receivers were Opelousas Catholic’s Keon Coleman, and Ronal Patin along with Juwan Milburn from North Central and Catholic–PC’s Nick Carriere.
Hornets’ Spencer Lacoste was named first team tight end, while Sacred Heart of Ville Platte’s Gabe Fontenot was selected as first team athlete.
OC’s Drew Sebastien was named first team kicker.
First team defensive linemen included Defensive MVP Donovan Green from Opelousas Catholic. Michael Monier from Sacred Heart, North Central’s Nikembe Johnson and Will Dunham from Catholic–PC.
First team linebackers are St. Edmund’s Hayden Smith along with Catholic-PC’s Spencer Lacoste, and Aaron Beatty.
Evan Veillon from Sacred Heart and OC’s Jack Sebastien were also selected as first team linebackers.
After earning district offensive first team honors, Blue Jay senior Marcantel, WCA’s Deviller and Carriere from CHPC also earned first team recognition at defensive back.
Joining them were Drew Sebastien from Opelousas Catholic, along with Catholic-PC’s Micah Cifreo.
Offensive MVP Langlois was also named first team flex on defense.
Opelousas Catholic’s Tyler Clark was named first team punter.
St. Edmund’s Hunter Brown earned first team returner honors.
Second team offensive backfield included quarterbacks Aiden Vosburg from CHPC and North Central’s Aaron Johnson.
St. Edmund’s Kieran Davis was named second team running back along with Colin Grezaffi and Cifreo from Catholic-PC.
OC’s Caleb Rubin was also selected as a second team running back.
Davis also earned second team athlete honors as well as second team Flex player on defense.
Second team offensive line includes St. Edmund’s Connor Diaz along with Landry Lafleur from Sacred Heart and OC’s Donovan Green.
Aaron Bender and Shawn Woods from Westminster; along with Catholic-PC’s Andrew Bonaventure were also selected to second team offensive line.
Second team wide receivers include Sacred Heart’s Tyler Perron and Cade Theriot from Opelousas Catholic and CHPC’s Chayse Buriege along with Jalen Wilson, and Nikembe Johnson from North Central.
Easton Coleman from St. Edmund was named second team tight end.
Catholic-PC’s Cameron Decoteau was named second team kicker while Connor Guillory from Westminster was voted second team punter.
Second team defensive linemen include St. Edmund’s Bryce Vidrine along with Shawn Woods from WCA, OC’s Xavier Jackson and Brandon Riddle from Catholic-PC.
Second team linebackers include St. Ed’s Tanner Cormier, Terry Hills from North Central, WCA’s Aaron Bender, Ethan Fourrier from Opelousas Catholic and Sacred Heart’s Gabe Fontenot.
Second team defensive backs included Keon Coleman from Opelousas Catholic; Sacred Heart’s Ethan Karonika, Zach Bacilla from WCA, OC’s Ronal Patin and Chayse Bouriege from Catholic-PC.
Xavier Redding from Westminster was second team returner.
Honorable Mention included St. Edmund’s Gus Brown, Austin Stanford, Garrett Dubois, Josh Smith, Remi Guillory and Henry Brown.

5-1A All-District
First Team
QB Jesse Roy Opelousas Catholic Sr.
RB Matthew Langlois Catholic-Pointe Coupee Jr.
RB Landon Devillier Westminster Sr.
RB Peyton Marcantel St. Edmund Sr.
OL Reed Lambert Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
OL Luke Torres Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
OL Evan Bergeron Westminster Jr.
OL Trey Carriere Opelousas Catholic Sr.
OL Xavier Jackson Opelousas Catholic Sr.
WR Keon Coleman Opelousas Catholic Jr.
WR Ronal Patin Opelousas Catholic Sr.
WR Juwan Milburn North Central Sr.
WR Nick Carriere Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
TE Spencer Lacoste Catholic-Pointe Coupee Jr.
Athlete-Gabe Fontenot Sacred Heart-Ville Platte Jr.
Kicker-Drew Sebastien Opelousas Catholic Sr.
MVP-OFFENSE: Matthew Langlois, Catholic PC
COACH OF THE YEAR: David Simoneaux, Catholic PC
First Team
DL Michael Monier Sacred Heart-Ville Platte Sr.
DL Nikembe Johnson North Central Sr.
DL Will Dunham Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
DL Donovan Green Opelousas Catholic Sr.
LB Spencer Lacoste Catholic-Pointe Coupee Jr.
LB Aaron Beatty Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
LB Evan Veillon Sacred Heart-Ville Platte Sr.
LB Jack Sebastien Opelousas Catholic Sr.
LB Hayden Smith St. Edmund Sr.
DB Peyton Marcantel St. Edmund Sr.
DB Drew Sebastien Opelousas Catholic Sr.
DB Nick Carriere Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
DB Micah Cifreo Catholic-Pointe Coupee Sr.
DB Landon Devillier Westminster Sr.
Flex Matthew Langlois Catholic-Pointe Coupee Jr.
Punter Tyler Clark Opelousas Catholic Sr.
Returner Hunter Brown St. Edmund Sr.
MVP - DEFENSE: Donovan Green, Opelousas Catholic
Second Team
Offense: QB Aiden Vosburg, Catholic-PC and Aaron Johnson, North Central; RB Colin Grezaffi, Catholic-PC; Micah Cifreo, Catholic-PC; Caleb Rubin, Opelousas Catholic, Kieran Davis, St. Edmund. Offensive Line: Landry Lafleur, Sacred Heart; Donovan Green, Opelousas Catholic; Shawn Woods, Westminster; Andrew Bonaventure, Catholic-PC; Aaron Bender, Westminster; Connor Diaz, St. Edmund. WR: Tyler Perron, Sacred Heart; Cade Theriot, Opelousas Catholic; Jalen Wilson, North Central; Chayse Buriege, Catholic-PC; Nikembe Johnson, North Central; TE: Easton Coleman, St. Edmund; ATH: Kieran Davis, St. Edmund; K: Cameron Decoteau, Catholic-PC; P: Connor Guillory, Westminster.
Defense: DL: Bryce Vidrine, St. Edmund; Shawn Woods, Westminster; Xavier Jackson, Opelousas Catholic; Brandon Riddle, Catholic-PC; LB: Terry Hills, North Central; Aaron Bender, Westminster; Ethan Fourrier, Opelousas Catholic; Tanner Cormier, St. Edmund; Gabe Fontenot, Sacred Heart; DB: Keon Coleman, Opelousas Catholic; Ethan Karonika, Sacred Heart; Zach Bacilla, Westminster; Ronal Patin, Opelousas Catholic; Chayse Bouriege, Catholic-PC; FLEX: Kieran Davis, St. Edmund; Returner: Xavier Redding, Westminster.
Honorable Mention: St. Edmund - Gus Brown, Austin Stanford, Garrett Dubois, Josh Smith, Remi Guillory and Henry Brown.

Eunice Today

465 Aymond St.
Eunice, LA 70535
Phone: 337-457-3061
Fax: 337-457-3122