Article Image Alt Text
Article Image Alt Text

Bobcats lead All-District 4-4A team

It was a season to remember for Eunice head football coach Andre Vige and his football team.
It started with a limited eight game regular season and then Hurricane Laura prevented Washington Marion and LaGrange from fielding teams in 2020.
The Bobcats (6-3 overall, 2-0 in district) captured the District 4-4A championship with wins over Rayne and North Vermilion.
No. 10 Eunice opened the Class 4-A playoffs with 36-0 win over No. 23 Bastrop,
The Bobcats then shut out No. 26 Belle Chasse 35-0 before falling to No. 2 Edna Karr, 40-7.
No. 30 Rayne (3-6, 1-1) lost 42-0 to No. 3 Tioga in the first round of the playoffs.
No. 35 North Vermilion finished the season at 2-4 overall and did not earn a playoff berth.
Eunice senior running back Deon Ardoin was named the offensive MVP.
Ardoin finished the season with 1,022 yards on 128 carries with 13 touchdowns.
He set the Bobcat career rushing record with 3,434 total yards.
Dedric Vigers was selected the district defensive MVP as he had 65 tackles, five tackles for loss, three forced fumbles and three touchdowns.
First team offense included Eunice High quarterback Simeon Ardoin.
Jeoul Hill was also named first team running back along with Rayne’s Ron Charles.
Eunice’s Dylan Guillory was named first team wide receiver along with North Vermilion’s Ethan Guidry.
Bobcat sophomore Hayden Darbonne was selected as first team tight end.
Three Bobcats were named to the first team offensive line including Kevontdraay Savoy, Dylan Darbonne and Samuel Leblue.
Rayne’s J'Sia Eaglin and Griffin Champagne were also selected to the first team offensive line.
Bleyton Francis from Rayne was named first team athlete.
Eunice’s Braden Rider was named first team kicker.
Rontrel Broussard from North Vermilion was voted first team returner.
Joining Savoy on the first team defensive line is Bobcat teammate Myles Woods along with J'Sia Eaglin and Trevon Williams from Rayne.
Bobcats’ Vigers, Hayden Darbonne and Jacoby Collins earned first team linebacker honors along with Rayne’s Baylon Leon.
Eunice’s Jahiem Mitchell was selected as a first team defensive back along with Durrell Weathersby and Will Arceneaux from Rayne and North Vermilion’s Ethan Frederick.
Deuce Comeaux from Rayne was named the first team punter.
Eunice High’s Zac Suire, Shawn Hudson, Ty’Shun Joseph, Bryson Poullard and Lex Schoest were named to the Honorable Mention list.

Eunice Today

465 Aymond St.
Eunice, LA 70535
Phone: 337-457-3061
Fax: 337-457-3122