Bobcats face new district challenges

A football state championship by the Bobcats will be remembered for a long time by the Eunice High faithful.
But a Class 3-A repeat isn’t possible as the Bobcats are moving up a division for at least the next two years.
In fact, four of the five teams in District 4-4A are moving in classification.
Rayne is the only original team in the district with Eunice, LaGrange, North Vermilion and Washington-Marion joining the Wolves.
Eunice, Washington Marion and North Vermilion- are moving up, while LaGrange is stepping down from Class 5-A.

SHVP downs Lady Jays

MAMOU – A bases loaded hit by the Lady Trojans lifted Sacred Heart of Ville Platte to a 3-2 win over St. Edmund in Acadiana Softball League play.
The Lady Jays grabbed a 1-0 lead in the top of the first inning when Kinsley Marcantel walked and scored on a hit by Anna Belle Fontenot.
Sacred Heart answered with a two-run hit by Gena Manuel to push the Lady Trojans ahead in the bottom of the frame.
The Lady Jays threatened in the top of the second inning when Sarah Duplechain walked, Kaitlyn Lacour bunted and Ashton Marcantel was hit by a pitch to load the bases.

Lady Bengals place 4 on South Region team

LOUISVILLE, Kentucky – LSU Eunice placed four members on the 2019 NFCA NJCAA Division II All-Region team, the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) announced this week.
The Bengals were part of the South Region as 91 student-athletes were chosen in the three All-Region teams.
Jensen Howell and Sara Tate were placed on the first team of the South All-Region team, while Heather Zumo and Hannah Smith garnered second team nominations.
The four players were part of a six-member LSUE delegation on the All-Region 23 team last week.

Lady Bengals sophomores leave a legacy

By Tom Dodge
Sports Editor
She was part of two of the Lady Bengals’ six national championships and it’s a memory Abby Trahan will carry for a lifetime.
In the 2017 title game, Trahan was a pinch runner and scored on a wild pitch to force a 7-7 tie before Emily Henderson advanced on a squeeze bunt by Haley Godeau to seal the 8-7 win over Jones County Junior College.
This season was a little less dramatic but still memorable as Trahan and the Lady Bengals earned a 10-5 win over Phoenix College for the championship.

Lady Bengals celebrate national title

CLINTON, Mississippi – Her second-inning grand slam helped LSU Eunice earn the 2019 NJCAA DII softball championship with a 10-5 win over Phoenix College.
Kelci Bodin was proud of her accomplishments of being named the tournament MVP, but she was thrilled for her team mates as the Lady Bengals captured the sixth title in program history.
“I am so proud for my team and everything we accomplished this season.”
Bodin finished 5-16 in the national tournament with eight RBI, two home runs, two doubles and a triple.


Eunice Today

465 Aymond St.
Eunice, LA 70535
Phone: 337-457-3061
Fax: 337-457-3122