Blue Jays face Tigers in opener

The St. Emund Blue Jays open the 2018 season at home Friday night against Hanson Memorial.
The Blue Jays rolled to a 35-6 win over the Tigers in last year’s season opener en route to a 10-2 overall finish.
St. Edmund earned a 12-7 win over the Notre Dame junior varsity in the Joe Nagata Memorial jamboree.
A 25-yarder by Jack Miller and an 18-yard run by Brad Miller accounted for the Blue Jay points.
Kaden Fontenot snared an interception on the game’s final play to seal the win over the Pioneers.

Full results of Eighth Annual Mayor Greg Jones Invitational Amateur Boxing show announced

DaJuan Hayes def. Jayden Dixon
Thaddius Lewis def. Raynell Williams
Joseph Lewis Jr. (CBC) def. Saige Romero
Timothy Melancon def. Marquies Jones
Tucker Trahan (Frog Capital) def. Jaxon Rodriguez
Zurmydrick Bendy def. Derrion Orange
Keith Richard def. Timothy Batiste
Brylan Ardoin (CBC) def. Jaden Book
Marques Hampton def. Christopher Orange
Elijah Dunbar def. Robert Corley
Travis Chevis def. Evan Pregeant
Boris Williams def. Waldren Joseph
Darome Hilton def. Maxwell Cerda

Jamborees kick of football season

The exciting pre-season round of jamborees begins tonight in Church Point.
The Bears are coming off their first out-right district championship as Church Point plays host to the Acadia – Vermilion Parish jamboree.
Kaplan will take on Rayne at 6 p.m., followed by Church Point – Erath at 7:30 p.m.
North Vermilion will host the Friday night games.
Lake Arthur will take on Abbeville at 6:30 p.m.
Crowley will face North Vermilion at 8 p.m.
The sixth annual Joe Nagata Memorial jamboree will be held Friday at St. Edmund’s Blue Jay Field.

Parish bragging rights

OPELOUSAS – The St. Landry Parish jamboree is holding its 21st annual jamboree and Eunice head coach Paul Trosclair has been a part of the games since its inception.
Eunice, Northwest and Port Barre are in District 5-3A, but will not face each other in the jamboree.
Eunice opens the regular season against Opelousas High, so Beau Chene and North Central were the only options for the Bobcats.
Eunice will take on North Central 6 p.m. Friday in the opening game held at Donald Gardner Stadium in Opelousas.

One step closer to the season

With the local teams scrimmaging this week, that means football season is just around the corner.
Eunice travels to Kaplan at 5:30 p.m. today as the Bobcats face to the 2017 Class 3-A state semifinalists.
“We are to see what progess we have made in the off-season workouts and the first few practices,” Bobcat head coach Paul Trosclair said.
“We have a long way to go in preparation for the season,” he said. “We need to improve if we want to win any of the first five games.”


Eunice Today

465 Aymond St.
Eunice, LA 70535
Phone: 337-457-3061
Fax: 337-457-3122